Whirlwind Weekend in Philly: Part 2

A couple of weeks ago, my husband and I spent a whirlwind weekend in Philadelphia. It was part research for my next book and part vacation trip.

To read part 1 of this trip, which includes Philadelphia’s Free Library, the Rocky Steps and a tour of the Eastern State Penitentiary, click here.

I love the gargoyles over the door!

I love the gargoyles over the door!

After touring the Eastern State Penitentiary, we hopped onto the purple Phlash Bus. This bus travels around tourist & historical places in Center City, Philadelphia. It’s $2 for a single ride or $5 for an all day pass. We picked it up outside the prison and bought all day passes, figuring this would save us a few steps as we made our way around the city. www.phillyphlash.com

 

IMG_2706

We rode the bus to the Reading Terminal Market, one of the biggest and oldest market in America, opening February 23, 1892. It stretches between 11th & 12th street and Filbert & Arch streets. We saw produce markets, meat markets, seafood markets, and cheese, nut and baked goods stores with craft and cookware vendors scattered between them. So much for the eye to take in, my mind was reeling.

Reading Terminal Market

Reading Terminal Market

I bought some In-Flu-ential tea at the Herbiary which is a blend of elderberry, hibiscus flowers and thyme to help my sinuses. (Check out her website here.) For lunch, my husband had a Kamikaze Philly Cheesesteak sandwich (Pepper Jack cheese & hot peppers) from Carmen’s Famous Hoagies & Cheesesteaks. He said it was delicious and spicy, which I could tell by his watering eyes 🙂 I chose a Naked Veggie Burrito from the 12th Street Cantina. If you’re wondering what a naked burrito is, it is everything that goes into a burrito but in a bowl rather than a wrap. Great for people avoiding or eliminating wheat.

You can read all about the Reading Terminal Market here. Be sure to check out the History page. Very interesting!

Leaving through the doors to Arch Street we headed east a few blocks to Chinatown!

Chinatown Friendship Gate

Chinatown Friendship Gate

Friendship Gate Up close

Friendship Gate Up close

Loved this gate!

IMG_2690-compressed

Architecture still present of a more prosperous era.

IMG_2692

There was even these cool dragons next to a parking lot. Love dragons!

I shopped at a few different shops to pick up T-shirts, Buddhas, fans and a nice parasol for my book fair table display. ( My first book, Hong Kong Treasure, is set in Hong Kong & China.)

Reluctantly leaving Chinatown, we walked 7 0r 8 blocks over to the Liberty Bell Center. Unfortunately, by this time it was after 5 pm and the guard at the door told us they were on winter hours so they closed at 5. So, my husband missed seeing the Liberty Bell 😦 Guess we will have to make another trip back.

Liberty Bell - morgue, compressed

We hopped on the Phlash bus which drove us back over to our hotel, the Sheraton Center City Hotel. After depositing our, or more accurately my packages, in our room we went down and asked our favorite concierge, John, for a restaurant recommendation for some place close. My hips and legs were reminding me I’m not twenty any more. He sent us to Con Murphy’s Irish Pub two blocks from the hotel. I ordered a large salad and my husband had the bacon wrapped, meatloaf dinner with fries instead of mashed potatoes because I was hungry for french fries 🙂 The food was delicious. We weren’t brave enough to sit outside, but those that were, huddled around the heater set up.

Sunday morning we had a leisurely breakfast in our room then we headed back home. I so wish we could have stayed a couple more days. There was so much more to see! But work schedules would not permit it.

On the way home, up on top of the mountains, it was trying to snow but I ignored it. Winter comes entirely too fast for me.

IMG_2701

However, I couldn’t ignore the snow around Oil City and Titusville.

IMG_2704

Luckily when we got home to North East, the snow was gone. They had a slight covering that morning but it soon melted.

Have you traveled to the City of Brotherly Love? What was your favorite part?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Whirlwind Weekend in Philly: Part 2

  1. The “Lake Effect” is not to be poo poo’d. I’ve seen it snow there from October into May. We didn’t get “snow days” unless the National Guard was on stand-by. But it’s character building, I guess. Glad you enjoyed Philly and your “research” trip. It is indeed a different climate here than there. But I had to include a little bit of NW PA in SINK RATE, my first novel that was just released. From SINK RATE:

    The captain wasn’t real sure about this at first. She told Sam she’s been keeping the press off his back, but they were looking to make something out of this. Her troop had an unsolved murder of a teenage girl in Nazareth from last year and the paper was going to start a series on whether the state police were properly trained in investigating homicide cases. “If we don’t get something on this soon, Harrisburg might be finding us new places to work. Ever been to Corry in the winter?” she asked.

    Like

  2. […] To see and read more of our Philadelphia trip, click Whirlwind Weekend in Philadelphia Part 1 and Whirlwind Weekend in Philadelphia Part 2. […]

    Like

What do you think?

